Connect with us


INEC Announce Date For Distribution Of Voter’s Card(Check Date Here)



The Independent National Electoral Commission has announced the date for collection of Permanent Voter’s Cards, PVC, which will commence on September 11, 2023, in Bayelsa, Kogi, and Imo states.

This was contained in a statement signed by the National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Sam Olumekun, on Tuesday.

Recall that on June 6, 2023, INEC approved the final list of candidates for the off-cycle governorship elections to be conducted in Bayelsa, Imo, and Kogi states.

It noted that the approval was in line with the provision of the Electoral Act, which requires the publication of the list not later than 150 days before the election day.

The final list showed that 18 political parties fielded candidates in Kogi, 17 in Imo, and 16 in Bayelsa, respectively.


INEC Announce Date For Distribution Of Voter’s Card(Check Date Here)


However, the Commission said the PVC collection was for registered voters, who could not collect theirs before the suspension of the exercise on February 5, 2023, ahead of the last general election.

The statement read in part, “In continuation of our preparations for the forthcoming off-cycle Governorship elections in Bayelsa, lmo and Kogi States, the Commission has approved the resumption of collection of Permanent Voters’ Cards for registered voters who could not collect their PVCs before the suspension of the exercise on 5th of February 2023 ahead of the last General Election.

“The current exercise only covers the three States where Governorship elections will be held on Saturday, 11th November 2023.

The PVCs will be available for collection at all our Local Government area offices in the three States: eight in Bayelsa, 27 in Imo, and 21 in Kogi.

“In addition, the Commission has created other designated centres with a large number of uncollected PVCs. The details of all centres will be made available by the Resident Electoral Commissioners in the three States.

“The Commission has earmarked weekdays (Monday – Friday) from 9.00 am to 3.00 pm for the collection of PVCs for a period of four weeks from September 11 to October 9, 2023.”

Meanwhile, the commission noted that two Resident Electoral Commissioners have been redeployed to other States.

The REC for Edo State, Mr. Obo Effanga, takes over in Bayelsa State, given the forthcoming off-cycle Governorship election, while Professor Ayobami Salami, moves to Lagos from Ekiti State.

“The two States are among those without RECs following the end of the tenure of the last holders of the offices,” he added.

The Commission further enjoined all political parties and candidates to conduct themselves peacefully and avoid utterances and actions capable of causing a breach of peace in their ongoing campaigns.


Publisher Of News Rain Nigeria